Bog & idé

Sons of the Soil

Vælg format:

E-bog

19,95 DKK
19,95 DKK
Minimumsbestilling: 1

Forlagsbeskrivelse af Sons of the Soil af Honoré de Balzac

"Vive la counter-revolution!" In 'Sons of the Soil', Balzac tells an extraordinary story of gentry and peasants, complacency and corruption, jealousy and revenge. And it has a contentious central message: the Revolution upset the balance and sowed new divisions between the classes. Centred around General Moncornet's chateau and estate in Burgundy, there is a large, fascinating cast of listless ladies and gentlemen indoors who "get what amusement they can out of carefully dressing themselves". Meanwhile, the staff are scheming and the locals con and poach their way through life. With the skill of Charles Dickens, Balzac draws together the main characters and enmeshes them in a murderous and treacherous plot with numerous serpentine twists. Fans of 'Downton Abbey' and Dickens' classics, including 'Bleak House' and 'A Tale of Two Cities' will love this. Honoré de Balzac (1799-1850) was a French novelist and playwright, most famous for a sequence of novels, collectively called 'The Human Comedy'. His signature style was a warts-and-all representation of post-Napoleonic French life, rich in detail and featuring complex, unfiltered characters. The style means Balzac is regarded as one of the pioneers of European literary realism. He is named as an influence on writers including Emile Zola, Henry James, Charles Dickens, and Gustave Flaubert. The first novel he published under his own name was 'Les Chouans' in 1829. In 1834 he hit upon the idea of grouping his novels together to record all of society. The result, over a period of years, was 'The Human Comedy', which comprised three categories: 'Analytic Studies'; 'Philosophical Studies'; and 'Studies of Manners'.

Detaljer

Serie
Forlag
SAGA Egmont
ISBN
9788726668827
Sprog
Engelsk
Originaltitel
Sons of the Soil
Udgivelsesdato
03-10-2022
Format
E-bog
E-bog format
REFLOWABLE
Filtype
Epub
DRM beskyttelse
DigitalVandmaerkning
Datamængde
496 KB
Varenr.
3054363
EAN nr.
9788726668827
Varegruppe
Lydbøger

Bogens kategorier

Klik på en kategori for at se lignende bøger

Anmeldelser af Sons of the Soil

Brugernes anmeldelser
Vurderet 0 ud af 5 baseret på 0 vurderinger
Mediernes anmeldelser
Vurderet 0 ud af 5 baseret på 0 vurderinger
Se detaljer her